top of page
Bay Mills Executive Council

Bay Mills Executive Council meets weekly to discuss tribal matters. Council members are selected to serve for two-year terms.

The Executive Council meets for regular business meetings on the 2nd & 4th Monday of each month in the courtroom of the tribal office.

Working sessions are also held on the 1st & 3rd Monday of each month in the conference room, located upstairs in the tribal office.

Serving on the council currently are Vice President Jacques LeBlanc, Jr., President Whitney Gravelle, Secretary Beverly Carrick, Council Person Stephanie Walden, and Treasurer Gail Glezen. 

Tribal Government Ordinances: 

Election Ordinance

On November 4, 1936, as a result of the Indian reorganization Act (IRA) of 1934, the Bay Mills Indian Community, representing 5 of the original six Sault Ste. Marie Bands of Chippewa Indians, adopted a constitution and by-laws. With reorganization, tribes agreed to abandon their traditional forms of clan governments.

On March 6, 1937 the tribe held their first tribal election. Those elected were Herman Cameron President, Lucy LeBlanc Vice-President, John Cameron Secretary, Arthur W. LeBlanc Treasurer and Clinton D. Marshall Councilman.

Previous Council Members, by year
bottom of page